The Sunburst Award committee is pleased to announce the following short list of books for its first annual presentation:

BEFORE WINGS by Beth Goobie
MIDNIGHT ROBBER by Nalo Hopkinson
LORD OF EMPERORS by Guy Gavriel Kay
THE BLACK CHALICE by Marie Jakober
MONKEY BEACH by Eden Robinson
GALVESTON by Sean Stewart

The first award, consisting of a cash prize of $1000 and a bronze medallion of the "Sunburst", crafted by Linda Carson (from a design by Marcel Gagné), is tentatively scheduled to be presented on 28 September 2001 at the Winnipeg International Writers Festival (for info on the festival, visit www.winnipegwords.com/index.html).

All six of the short-listed works represent the finest novel-length Canadian literature of the fantastic published during the year 2000. The authors are either Canadian citizens or landed immigrants. For information about eligibility and the selection process, we invite you to visit the Sunburst Award web site or write the committee.

The jurors for the 2001 Sunburst Award are John Clute, Candas Jane Dorsey, Phyllis Gotlieb, Monica Hughes and Leon Rooke.



Please contact the committee secretary at: The Sunburst Award, 106 Cocksfield Avenue, North York, Ontario CANADA M3H 3T2, phone 416-636-4691 or email mici@sunburstaward.org.

Date: 21 July 2001